Life begins at the end of you comfort zone

Beginnings are intimidating, especially in the context of writing essays and papers. My husband tells his students that the blank page can be very intimidating because you have to create meaning out of nothing. No easy task, eh? Whether it is writing a blog, an essay or a personal statement, beginnings set the tone. The writer is under a lot of pressure to get things right.The best advice I got about writing a beginning was also from my husband 🙂 Skip the beginning and start writing the body. This actually works!

The beginning of the week is also tough. A couple of weeks ago, I decided to cook for the entire week on the weekend. My husband and I go for groceries on Saturday and then on Saturday night and Sunday, we undertake a marathon cooking session. It is as exhausting as it sounds, however, I am always grateful at dinner Monday – Friday as we only need to warm up food and eat.

I will admit, sometimes, I avoid beginnings. I have been known to procrastinate in an attempt to delay the inevitable. When I self-reflect, I find it funny that I engage in this behavior. Why do we avoid things? Especially things that will help us move forward? The answer may seem confusing: I avoid things because they will help me move forward – out of my comfort zone. As I am serious about achieving specific objectives, I come face to face with my fear.

I found this quote online from a person named Manoj Arora, from his book, From the Rat Race to Financial Freedom. He says, Coming out of your comfort zone is tough in the beginning, chaotic in the middle, and awesome in the end…because in the end, it shows you a whole new world !! Make an attempt..

Leave a Reply

