Burning the candle at both ends

For those of you are over 30, you will know the expression “burning the candle at both ends”. That is how I feel right now. Midterms, assignments, meetings, homework, readings, tutorials, cooking, cleaning, paying bills, cleaning the cat litter – it all gets too much sometimes. I do admit I am feeling a bit overwhelmed.

In the past I have coped with this stress by eating comfort food. Brownies, cakes, pastries, you name it, I ate it! But that behaviour did not do well for my waistline. This year, my husband and I followed a structured program – Insanity. It’s a crazy workout but I found that regular exercise has increased my energy, I don’t feel so sluggish.

Using my exercise as inspiration, I have introduced structure into my day. On the days I don’t have classes, I am at home. I do some housework in the morning and then start my work. I make sure I do some work from each class so I don’t get overwhelmed. At lunch, I take a break. I never study and eat at the same time. Instead, I choose to make sure I laugh by watching an episode (or two) of Frasier (my all time favourite show) or Parks and Recreation. Then I dive right back in.

On the days I have class I usually get to school early and study at Frost Library.I feel extremely motivated in the library, sitting with my classmates, all of us crouched over our books, learning. We are able to feed off each other’s energy and keep going.

The truth is if I burn the candle at both ends for too long, I will just burn out! So it important that I take the time to take care of myself and my family.

Fellow mature students, how are you coping with school-work-life these days? I would love to connect with you (especially over coffee!)

Ttyl,

Neena

Leave a Reply

