This looks familiar…

Glendon EntranceI am well into my second year at Glendon. Although everything is familiar, in many ways my second year is totally different. This year I am involved and contributing to life at Glendon. I am amazed at the difference involvement has made to the quality of time I spend at Glendon. During my first week, the usual fears plagued me – what if no one talks to me? Have I become stupid over the summer? Will I be able to make friends my own age? Not possible, no and yes!

Things took a turn for the better the moment I decided to get involved! School is about connecting with the world around you; that is part of the learning process! I am curious about the world around me – but I couldn’t just be an observer anymore, I wanted to be a participant!

This year I have joined two (2) clubs: Glendon’s Model United Nations and the Foreign Affairs Council. In addition, I have asked to be included on the volunteer roster at the Office of Recruitment. Joining clubs has made it much easier for me to meet people. I am feeling confident!

I can remember seeing my fellow classmates last year and thinking: how are they on such good terms with Glendon’s faculty and staff? The answer was really simple: they got involved. In case you are wondering, what types of clubs you can find at Glendon, take a look at the list with descriptions here:

http://www.glendon.yorku.ca/english/futurestudents/campuslife/clubs.html

I guess what I want to say is that while things may look familiar the second time around, your experience can be totally different – but it really all up to you. Take the leap!

Ttyl,

Neena

2 thoughts on “This looks familiar…

  1. Thank you so much for creating such an amazing, positive blog! I can totally relate to you! I graduated in 2009 and I plan on applying to Glendon for Fall 2015. At first, I was scared that once I would start school, it will be hard for me to meet people and to get back into the student state of mind, but after reading this, I choose not to let those fears get to me. You are very inspiring.

    Wishing you all the best in your studies and your future 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Dee! Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am happy to read that you plan to apply to Glendon for admissions in Fall 2015, and that my blog helped encourage you. Glendon is a great place for mature students. 25% of our students are mature students, so you will be able to meet people easily. Also, we have a strong Mature Student’s Club to help our mature students connect to one another. Please let me know if you have any questions throughout the year. I would be pleased to help you. Also, if you are in the Toronto area, consider coming by for a tour 🙂

      Best Wishes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

